Quick Answer: What Happens If You Accidentally Go Through An EZ Pass?

Is an EZ Pass good in all states?

E-ZPass transponders can be used on all toll roads with specially marked “E-ZPass” lanes.

Other states that participate in the program include Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, West Virginia, North Carolina and Kentucky..

What happens if you accidentally pass a toll booth?

If you accidentally drive through a toll booth, where can you pay the money to? … However, it does happen, in which case the toll booth camera will snap a photo of your license plate and you will get a bill in the mail.

How much do you get fined for going through EZ Pass?

SIGN UP FOR THE POLITICS NEWSLETTER The fine for using the interchange without an E-Z Pass is $65. However, according to the Turnpike Commission, there is a way of avoiding the fine. Drivers can appeal and send officials the ticket showing where they entered the turnpike.

What happens if you speed through EZ Pass?

“You can lose your E-Z Pass privileges if you speed through E-Z Pass lanes,” says Dan Weiller, director of communications for the New York State Thruway Authority. … “It’s not a ticket.” If a driver gets a second such notice within six months, their E-Z Pass account can be suspended for up to 60 days.

How long does it take EZ Pass to ship?

30 daysIt may take up to 30 days to receive your transponder(s) in the mail. You can still drive The Toll Roads and pay with your new account.

How do I return an Ezpass tag in NJ?

Please do not return your tag to the address printed on the tag. Send your tag(s) to the New Jersey E-ZPass Customer Service Center, P.O. Box 52003, Newark, NJ 07101-8203. When your tag is received in good condition, we will refund your tag deposit, if applicable, plus any unused toll balance, generally within 30 days.

How much does EZ Pass cost in NJ?

All New Jersey E-ZPass customers are charged a separate $1 monthly service fee and another $1 for bi-monthly statements, which are billed every other month.

What happens if you go through EZ Tag without one?

If you happened to drive a Harris County-operated toll road without an EZ TAG, you may pay a toll violation that has not yet been invoiced through the Missed a Toll process. This may only be used once every 365 days. The toll amount may not be available for 7-10 business days of your trip, so please check back again.

Can I use my EZ Pass in someone else’s car ny?

Can I use my transponder in other vehicles? Yes, you may transfer a transponder between vehicles as long as they are of the same vehicle class. There are penalties for using a transponder in a different vehicle class (i.e. Car transponder in a tractor- trailer.)

What do you do if you don’t have money for a toll?

If the toll remains unpaid, Roads and Maritime Service NSW (RMS) may choose to send a Penalty Notice to the registered owner of the vehicle. As motorists must pay their tolls, a Penalty Notice can be issued without previously sending a Toll Notice or Final Toll Notice. The penalty fine is currently $165.

What does go toll unpaid mean?

E-ZPass users usually don’t pay attention to the electronic sign that tells them the toll is paid. If they did, they might see a notice that says “toll unpaid.” That is an indicator that the battery is dead in the transponder.

Can I drive on Sam Houston Tollway without a tag?

Houston’s toll roads all take electronic payments, and a select few portions of Sam Houston Tollway accept cash. … The Katy Freeway’s managed lanes are open to solo drivers willing to pay during the busiest hours. During non-HOV times, anyone using the lanes must have an EZ Tag.